Aluminum Association Announces New Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Board Members | The Aluminum Association

Media Contact: 

Matt Meenan

Signup for e-briefings

Aluminum Association Announces New Chairman, Vice-Chairman and Board Members

September 13, 2011

ROSEMONT, IL./ARLINGTON, VA., The Aluminum Association announced new Board leadership and changes to the Board of Directors today.

Thomas A. Brackmann, President of Nichols Aluminum was elected as Chairman of the Board. Mr. Brackmann is replacing outgoing Chairman Steven J. Demetriou, Chairman and CEO of Aleris International Inc. Mr. Brackmann has previously served as Vice-Chairman of the Board. Steve Larkin, President of the Aluminum Association said, "We very excited to see the Aluminum Association continue its important advocacy role and sustainability leadership under Mr. Brackmann."

Jean-Marc Germain, Senior Vice-President and President of Novelis North America, will fulfill the role of Vice-Chairman.  Aluminum Association President, Steve Larkin said, "The theme of this year's Aluminum Week was 'Celebrate Sustainability.' Mr. Germain has shown a commitment to promoting aluminum as the most sustainable material option for automakers, packagers, product designers and architects; as Vice-Chairman, he will certainly continue this important work."

William Aronson, Vice-Chairman of Metal Exchange Corp. (St. Louis, MO,) Patrick Lawlor, Business Area President SAPA Profiles North America (Moon Township, PA,) Wesley Oberholzer, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer of Wise Metals Group (Linthicum Heights, MD,) Jerry Sweeney, Co-Founder and President of Tennessee Aluminum Processors, Inc. (Columbia, TN) Patrick Franc, President and CEO of Tri-Arrows Aluminum, Dietrich M. Gross, Founder and Chairman and CEO of Jupiter Aluminum (Hammond, IN,) Kurt F. Leopold CEO of Valimet Inc. (Stockton, CA,) Robert J. Longenecker, retired CEO of KB Alloys (Reading, PA,) and Layle "Kip" Smith, CEO and President of Noranda Aluminum Inc (Franklin, TN) were elected to the Board of Directors representing Producer Members.

Patrick Taylor, President and CEO of, Inc. (Worthington, OH) will fill a vacant seat due to a recent resignation. He will be joined by Michael O. Falk, President and CEO of Falk PLI Engineering and Surveying (Portage, IN,) and Andrew R. Fellon, President and CEO of Fellon-McCord and Associates, LLC (Louisville, KY) as new Board of Directors member representing Associate Members.

The Aluminum Association's Board of Directors, assisted by the Chairman's Advisory Council is responsible for all policy decisions for the Association. The Board represents the total industry by engaging the interests of the product divisions and overseeing the management of core member services.

#    #    #

The Aluminum Association, based in Arlington, Virginia, works globally to aggressively promote aluminum as the most sustainable and recyclable automotive, packaging and construction material in today's market. The Association represents U.S. and foreign-based primary producers of aluminum, aluminum recyclers and producers of fabricated products, as well as industry suppliers. Member companies operate more than 200 plants in the United States, with many conducting business worldwide.


September 17, 2021
Department of Commerce Finds Aluminum Foil from Five Countries Is Unfairly Traded 
July 29, 2021
Electric Grid Modernization, Clean Energy Transition, Transportation Investment Vital; More Needed...